Darkness

I love you, I cried.

You laughed that mocking laugh of yours.

My heart shattered as you turned and walked away,

Leaving me battered, broken and alone.

I wept…

Every tear singeing my bruised eyes..

Every memory piercing through me..

Like a knife.

Curled up on the cold, hard floor..

I wept..

Until the darkness consumed me,

And there was…

Nothing.

 

In the darkness

The demons pounced…

Laughing, mocking.

I struggled to block them out

But I was trapped, gagged.

Nowhere could I turn…

Throat sore and dry, I could not scream…

Hot tears my only warmth.

The demons dug in their talons

Tearing at my flesh.

I closed my eyes and prayed for death

For that would be the only

Escape.

Leave a Reply

